March 14th, 2005


Davis Sq. Roomate Search

Short form: we're looking for two roommates for our 4BR Davis square-area apartment, to enter a year-long lease starting June first. Please send inquiries to mrpet. Feel free to forward this message to anyone you think may be interested. (Lists are okay too.) Thanks!

We are:

moonshadow. I'm in the middle of a career transition, not working at the moment but have income. Home frequently. When I'm in, I tend to knit, cook, read, have sex, and play on the 'puter. Occasionally I have overnight guests.

mrpet. Software engineer, not too geeky but have been known to fix people's computers :) Spends a fair amount of time around the house doing various creative type stuff, including: cooking, sewing, pattern drafting and some website design.

Feline family members Charlie and Pretzel. Two mellow, lovable, neutered adult male cats, who only have access to the second floor. They are allowed by the landlord - unfortunately two cats is the limit, but we guarantee their pettability.

Communally - We are partnered long-term and we prefer to be friendly with our roomates. In the past we've done some shared meals (omnivorous), movie nights, and hanging out, but you don't have to if that's not your thing. We also host parties of various sizes. The house is clothing-optional for residents and their partners (although we will happily put our clothes on when your parents/new sweetie/coworkers are coming over). We are currently a member of Parker Farm. In exchange for using our driveway for drop off of farm shares we get a free 4 person sized share of fresh veggies.

We are looking for:

Friendly people, poly/bi/pagan/trans/etc-friendly, non-smoker with no dogs or cats (small pets negotiable) who like to share a house with others, doesn't mind cleaning up after themselves (but doesn't mind some clutter, either). Crafty and/or geeky a plus. We would prefer our roomates to be women or transpeople but will consider the exceptional man. Sorry, no kids.

The apartment is:

On Orchard Street, a 5 minute walk to Davis Square Station, under 10 minutes to Porter square station. Walking distance under 5 minutes to many restaurants/convenience stores/groceries/etc. etc. etc. (it's Davis Square :) 30 seconds from Mass ave, which is the 77 bus, and Davis has lots of buses. Really really public-transit accessible.

Rent is currently $2600 which we split $675 each for the three big bedrooms and $575 for the little one. This includes heat and hot water (big bonus). Currently, other utilities (phone/cablemodem/electricity) run about $80 per person per month. We don't expect a dramatic change in utilities in the coming year and the landlord has agreed to keep the rent the same.

We have an Comcast cable package which includes cablemodem, (and we have a router set up and CAT-5 to the bedrooms). Cable/cablemodem/phone costs about $35/month/person.

The apartment is the second and third floor of a two-family house. This includes large living room and dining room, enclosed second floor porch, reasonable kitchen with great counter space, 1 3/4 baths (full one on second floor, shower-only on third), very plushy carpet in all rooms (except the kitchen) and 70's wallpaper (though it's pretty muted.)

The current housemates have what we need to furnish the common spaces of the apartment, plus lots of kitchen gear (but there's still space for your stuff). Gas stove and dishwasher in kitchen, new this year. Free laundry in the basement. We also own a TV/VCR and DVD player.

The landlords are a couple who live in Boston and seem pretty nice, but we've never needed to have much contact with them.

There is a garage in which we can store bikes, but not much else. We have a driveway, in which it is possible to park a car without blocking in the downstairs neighbor. There is also plenty of on-street parking, even in the evening.

No large pets, no smoking.

The bedrooms:

A reasonably sized bedroom on the third floor which has its own kitchenette (sink, small fridge, 4 burner electric range). It has carpet, sloped ceilings in part of it, and a good closet. Rent for this room is currently $675.

A second reasonably sized bedroom on the third floor which has a walk-in closet with built-in dresser. It has carpet, sloped ceilings in places, and lots of sunlight. It is currently painted green, you can re-paint if desired. Rent for this room is currently $675.

And if you're wondering: what happened to your previous roommates? One is moving to California, one is seeking a cheaper pad. We're on good terms and will happily furnish references in response to serious inquiries.

Please contact mrpet if you have any questions, and again, please feel free to forward to interested parties and/or lists.