April 27th, 2005


Still seeking one roomate for June first

We are still looking for one more roommate for our fabulous Davis Square apartment. Details below.
All leads and questions should go to mrpet. Feel free to send a link to potentially interested parties and lists.

Davis Sq. Roommate Search

Short form: we're looking for a roommate for our 4BR Davis square-area
apartment, to enter a year-long lease starting June first. Please send
inquiries to mrpet or just comment here. Feel free to forward this message
to anyone you think may be interested. (Lists are okay too.) Thanks!

We are:

moonshadow. I'm in the middle of a career transition, not working at
the moment but have income. Home frequently. When I'm in, I tend to knit,
cook, read, have sex, and play on the 'puter. Occasionally I have
overnight guests.

mrpet. Software engineer, not too geeky but have been known to fix
people's computers :) Spends a fair amount of time around the house doing
various creative type stuff, including: cooking, sewing, pattern drafting
and some website design.

ayalanya. Currently working as an exotic dancer, with hopes of building a
jewelry business eventually. Not home terribly frequently and keeps strange
hours, but when home will tend to cook, make jewelry and clothing (as well as
doing other random crafty things), hide in her room reading or
being online, and sometimes will have people over.

Feline family members Charlie and Pretzel. Two mellow, lovable, neutered
adult male cats, who only have access to the second floor. They are
allowed by the landlord - unfortunately two cats is the limit, but we
guarantee their pettability.

Communally - Jim and Honey are partnered long-term and we all prefer to be
friendly with our roommates. In the past we've done some shared meals
(omnivorous), movie nights, and hanging out, but you don't have to if that's
not your thing. We also host parties of various sizes. The house is
clothing-optional for residents and their partners (although we will happily
put our clothes on when your parents/new sweetie/coworkers are coming over).
We are currently have a membership with Parker Farm. In exchange for using our
driveway for drop off of farm shares we get a free 4 person sized share of
fresh local veggies weekly.

We are looking for:

A friendly person, poly/bi/pagan/trans/etc-friendly, non-smoker with no dogs or
cats (small pets negotiable) who likes to share a house with others, doesn't
mind cleaning up after themselves (but doesn't mind some clutter, either).
Crafty and/or geeky a plus. We would prefer our roomates to be women or
transpeople but will consider the exceptional man. Sorry, no kids.

The apartment is:

On Orchard Street, a 5 minute walk to Davis Square Station, under 10
minutes to Porter square station. Walking distance under 5 minutes to many
restaurants/convenience stores/groceries/etc. etc. etc. (it's Davis Square
> 30 seconds from Mass ave, which is the 77 bus, and Davis has lots of
buses. Really really public-transit accessible.

Rent is currently $2600 which we split $675 each for the three big
bedrooms and $575 for the little one. This includes heat and hot water
(big bonus). Currently, other utilities (phone/cablemodem/electricity) run
about $80 per person per month. We don't expect a dramatic change in
utilities in the coming year and the landlord has agreed to keep the rent
the same.

We have an Comcast cable package which includes cablemodem, (and we have a
WiFi router set up and CAT-5 to the bedrooms). Cable/cablemodem/phone costs
about $35/month/person.

The apartment is the second and third floor of a two-family house. This
includes large living room and dining room, enclosed second floor porch,
reasonable kitchen with great counter space, 1 3/4 baths (full one on
second floor, shower-only on third), very plushy carpet in all rooms
(except the kitchen) and 70's wallpaper (though it's pretty muted.)

The current housemates have what we need to furnish the common spaces of
the apartment, plus lots of kitchen gear (but there's still space for your
stuff). Gas stove and dishwasher in kitchen, new this year. Free laundry
in the basement. We also own a TV/VCR and DVD player.

The landlords are a couple who live in Boston and seem pretty nice, but
we've never needed to have much contact with them.

There is a garage in which we can store bikes, but not much else. We have
a driveway, in which it is possible to park a car without blocking in the
downstairs neighbor. There is also plenty of on-street parking, even in
the evening.

No large pets, no smoking.

The bedroom:

A reasonably sized bedroom on the third floor which has a huge walk-in closet with
built-in dresser. It has carpet, sloped ceilings in places, and lots of
sunlight. It is currently painted green, you can re-paint if desired. Rent for
this room is currently $675.

Please contact mrpet if you have any questions, and
again, please feel free to send a link to this post to any interested parties
and/or lists.
  • Current Mood
    hopeful hopeful