mrpet (mrpet) wrote,

roommates wanted Jun 1

As synchronicity would have it, both of our roommates are moving out this spring, so we need two more. Please feel free to repost. We think we're pretty cool to live with.

Davis Sq. Roommate Search

Short form: we're looking for two roommates for our 4BR Davis square-area
apartment, to enter a year-long lease starting June first. Please send
inquiries to mrpet at livejournal dot com . Feel free
to forward this message to anyone you think may be interested. (Lists are
okay too.) Thanks!

We are:

lady_anemone. I am a birth assistant and do freelance editing part-time.
Home frequently. When I'm in, I tend to knit, cook, read, have sex, and
play on the computer. Occasionally I have overnight guests.
mrpet. Software engineer, not too geeky but have been known to fix
people's computers :) Spends a fair amount of time around the house doing
various creative type stuff, including: cooking, sewing, pattern drafting
and some website design.

Feline family members Pretzel and Suzuki. Two lovable indoor-only fixed
adult cats. They are allowed by the landlord - unfortunately two cats is
the limit, but we guarantee their pettability. They do not ever need to
be permitted in your rooms.

Communally - we are partnered long-term and we prefer to be friendly with
our roomates. In the past we've done some shared meals (omnivorous), movie
nights, and hanging out, but you don't have to if that's not your thing.
We also host parties of various sizes. The house is clothing-optional for
residents and their partners (although we will happily put our clothes on
when your parents/new sweetie/coworkers are coming over).

We are looking for:

Friendly people, poly/bi/pagan/trans/etc-friendly, non-smoker with no dogs
or cats ("cage pets" negotiable) who like to share a house with others,
doesn't mind cleaning up after themselves (but doesn't mind some clutter,
either). Crafty and/or geeky a plus. We would prefer our roomates to be
women or transpeople but will consider the exceptional man. Sorry, no

The apartment is:

On Orchard Street, a 5 minute walk to Davis Square Station, under 10
minutes to Porter square station. Walking distance under 5 minutes to many
restaurants/convenience stores/groceries/etc. etc. etc. (it's Davis Square
:) 30 seconds from Mass ave, which is the 77 bus, and Davis has lots of
buses. Really really public-transit accessible.

Rent is currently $2600 which we split $675 each for the three big
bedrooms and $575 for the little one. This includes heat and hot water
(big bonus). Currently, other utilities (VOIP landline/cablemodem/electricity)
run about $80 per person per month. Our cablemodem is through Comcast and
our VOIP is through Primus. We have a wireless router set up, as well as
CAT5 to the bedrooms. We don't expect a dramatic change in rent or utilities
in the coming year.

The apartment is the second and third floor of a two-family house. This
includes large living room and dining room, enclosed second floor porch
where the kitty litter lives, reasonable kitchen with great counter space,
1 3/4 baths (full one on second floor, shower-only on third), very plushy
carpet in all rooms (except the kitchen) and 70's wallpaper (though it's
pretty muted.)

The current housemates have what we need to furnish the common spaces of
the apartment, plus lots of kitchen gear (but there's still space for your
stuff). Gas stove and dishwasher in kitchen, new this year. Free laundry
in the basement. We also own a TV/VCR and DVD player. We rent a DVR box
(like TIVO but cheaper).

The landlords are a couple who live in Boston and seem pretty nice, but
we've never needed to have much contact with them.

There is a garage in which we can store bikes, but not much else. We have
a driveway, in which it is possible to park a car without blocking in the
downstairs neighbor. There is also plenty of on-street parking, even in
the evening.

No large pets, no smoking.

The bedrooms:

A reasonably sized bedroom on the third floor which has its own
kitchenette (sink, small fridge, 4 burner electric range). It has carpet,
sloped ceilings in part of it, and a good closet. Rent for this room is
currently $675.

A second reasonably sized bedroom on the third floor which has a walk-in
closet with built-in dresser. It has carpet, sloped ceilings in places,
and lots of sunlight. It is currently painted blue, you can re-paint if
desired. Rent for this room is currently $675.

And if you're wondering: what happened to your previous roommates? One is
preparing to move to Thailand, one is seeking a situation with less
interaction with others. We're on good terms and will happily furnish
references in response to serious inquiries.

Please contact mrpet at livejournal dot com if you
have any questions, and again, please feel free to forward this post to
any interested parties and/or lists.

Tags: rommate

  • Brunch?

    Anyone up for brunch? I got to sleep in for the first time in months and now I need to eat some yummy food. I haven't decided on a place yet. [edit:…

  • Setlist from Impulse! Sci-Fi Dance Party

    Had a blast in the booth surrounded by face huggers and head crabs :) Track Artist Vangelis Rachel's Song (from Blade…

  • Setlist from Arisia Friday night dance

    Had a blast spinning Friday night at Arisia! I got tons of requests on and cranked through a crazy number of genres keeping the floor going until…

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic
    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.