mrpet (mrpet) wrote,

$675 Queer Friendly Housing in Davis Sq. Avail Jun 1

We're looking for one more housemate for our 4BR apartment to enter a year-long lease starting June first. The heat and water are included in rent! Two cats, tons of common space, 1-3/4 baths, a dining room, living room, and big kitchen.

We are looking for a poly/gay/bi/pagan/trans/etc-friendly, non-smoker who likes sharing a house with others. Crafty or geeky a plus. :) Sorry, no kids or pets ("cage pets" negotiable though). Communally, we like to be friendly with our roommates and like occasional shared meals(omnivorous), movie nights, and hanging out, but you don't have to if that's not your thing. :) We also host parties of various sizes.

Please send inquiries to ladyanemone at

About us:
Honey. I am a birth assistant and do freelance editing part-time. Home frequently. When I'm in, I tend to knit, cook, read, have sex, and play on the computer. Occasionally I have overnight guests.

Jim. Software engineer, not too geeky but have been known to fix people's computers :) Spends a fair amount of time around the house doing various creative type stuff, including: cooking, sewing, pattern drafting and some website design.

Naomi. I work at home part time selling my own hand crafted jewelry & accessories. Evenings I'm often out with friends, but when I'm home and not working I like to read, eat, cook, and occasionally exercise.

Pretzel and Suzuki. Two lovable indoor-only fixed adult cats. Twocats is the landlord's limit for the house unfortunately, but we do guarantee their pettability. They don't ever need to be allowed in your rooms if you don't want them there.

Communally, we like to be friendly with our roommates and like occasional shared meals (omnivorous), movie nights, and hanging out, but you don't have to if that's not your thing. :) We also host parties of various sizes. The house is clothing-optional for residents and their partners (but we'll happily put our clothes on when your parents/new sweetie/coworkers are coming over ;). Jim and Honey are also partnered long-term. What we're looking for in a housemate:

A friendly person, poly/gay/bi/pagan/trans/etc-friendly, non-smoker with no dogs or cats ("cage pets" negotiable) who likes to share a house with others, doesn't mind cleaning up after themselves (but doesn't mind some clutter either :).

Crafty and/or geeky a plus. Sorry, no kids or couples.

The House:

The apartment is on Orchard Street--5 minute walk to Davis Square Station (Red Line), 7 minute walk to Porter Square Station (also Red Line) Being so close to Davis and Porter we're just a few minutes from lots of restaurants, convenience stores, groceries, etc. etc. (it's Davis :).

We're also 30 seconds from Mass ave, which is the 77 bus, andDavis has lots of buses. Super public-transit accessible if you haven't been here before.

The apartment is the second and third floor of a two-family house. Amenities include a nice-sized kitchen with great counter space, living room, dining room, and additional common space areas (the common space acreage is very nice :), 1 & 3/4 baths, basement, partly-full garage (good for small storage), second floor enclosed porch (where the kitty litter resides), and washer & drier in laundry section in the basement (large basement). Plushy carpet in all rooms except for kitchen and 70s wallpaper in most of the common space (it's pretty muted). Usable driveway (i.e. you can park without blocking people in :) and plenty of on-street parking.

Resident parking permits are one dollar (yeah, just $1) and temporary permits for friends are easy to get (including multiple permits, useful for move-ins, social gatherings, etc.)--a nice feature of Somerville.

The common areas are well furnished by the current housemates, but there's definitely room (or room can be made) for new housemates stuff as well. A few notable common-area items are: lots of kitchen gear, gas stove, new dishwasher, washer & dryer (free laundry),

TV/VCR, new DVD player, and a DVR box (like TIVO).

The rent for the room is $675 per month (total rent for the apartment is $2600 that is split 4 ways, $675 for each for the three big bedrooms and $575 for the little one (already occupied)).
Big plus:heating and hot water costs are included in the rent.

The only utilities we need to pay are electricity and phone/internet and they usually run around $70 per month. Cable internet is provided by Comcast and VOIP phone is provided by Primus. All of the bedrooms have wireless internet access as well as CAT5 cable access (i.e. normal internet
cable) and the internet service is both high-speed and reliable. As mentioned, there is also a free washer & dryer in the basement.

The lease runs from June first 2008 to May thirty-first 2009. The landlords are a couple living in Boston and seem pretty nice, and are very responsive. Fortunately, we've never needed to have too much contact with them though. ☺

Getting in touch:
If you're interested or have any questions send us an email at ladyanemone at :) We're also on great terms with our previous housemates and are happy to furnish references on request. The current roommate is moving out to go to grad school in another state.

Please feel free to repost this ad or share it with anyone you think might be interested as well.

Thanks. :)


  • Post a new comment


    default userpic
    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment